Which Bulldog belongs in the College Football Hall of Fame?

Jake Scott is again on the ballot for the College Football Hall of Fame. (University of Georgia)

Jake Scott is again on the ballot for the College Football Hall of Fame. (University of Georgia)

The National Football Foundation has released the names of the 79 former players and nine coaches on the ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame, and three Georgia Bulldogs are included: Jake Scott and Scott Woerner, both defensive backs, and offensive lineman Matt Stinchcomb. All have been nominated before.

The ballots will be distributed to more than 12,000 NFF members and current Hall of Famers. Their votes will be tabulated and submitted to the organization’s Honors Court — made up of athletic directors, conference commissioners, Hall of Famers and members of the media — which will make the final selections for induction, to be announced in May. Usually a dozen or more players are named each year to the Hall of Fame, which is moving from South Bend to Atlanta in 2013.

To be eligible for the ballot, players must have been named to one of the First Team All-America listings recognized by the NCAA, have played their last year of intercollegiate football at least 10 years prior, played within the past 50 years, and cannot be currently playing professional football.

UGA players already in the hall are Bob McWhorter, Frank Sinkwich, Charley Trippi, Vernon “Catfish” Smith, Bill Hartman, Fran Tarkenton, Herschel Walker, Bill Stanfill, Terry Hoage, Kevin Butler and John Rauch. Coaches Vince Dooley and Wally Butts also are in the hall, as is Jim Donnan (primarily for his work at Marshall).

The hall summed up the accomplishments of the three UGA candidates like this:

Jake Scott: Named consensus First Team All-America in 1968. 1968 SEC Most Valuable Player. Twice led the SEC in interceptions and still holds the SEC record with two interceptions returned for a touchdown in a single game.

Matt Stinchcomb: Two-time First Team All-America selection (consensus ’98). Two-time First Team All-SEC and 1998 recipient of Jacobs Blocking Trophy. 1998 NFF William V. Campbell Trophy recipient and NFF National Scholar-Athlete.

Scott Woerner: Named First Team All-America, All-Conference and team Most Valuable Back in 1980. Twice named Georgia’s Outstanding Special Teams Player of the Year (1977, 1980). Led team to the 1980 National Championship.

So which one of the three do you think most deserves to be inducted? Or do you think any of them is Hall of Fame material? Are there any other Bulldogs you think merit consideration?

Scott obviously had the most illustrious post-college career, but that really shouldn’t enter into it since this is the college Hall of Fame. He does still hold the UGA record for career interceptions and return yards and remains one of the most exciting college players I ever saw. Woerner may not have actually “led” Georgia to a national championship as the hall says, but he was a key player on the team and another player who was a big game-changer. And Stinchcomb not only was as dominating an offensive tackle as you’ll ever see, but was a true scholar athlete, with a 3.96 GPA.

Pete Fiutak of College Football News ranked this year’s nominees and includes Scott in his second tier (those who should probably make it into the hall at some point) while Stinchcomb and Woerner are on his Hall of Maybe list of those who deserve to be part of the debate but probably won’t make it.

What do you think?


The Georgia Bulldog Club says season ticket order forms have gone out to Hartman Fund donors a bit later than usual this year but should be hitting mailboxes this week. In the meantime, you can order online. An interesting Facebook post from UGA says: “Hartman Fund donors, if you are not renewing all of your season tickets, please notify the Georgia Bulldog Club which seats you want to drop. Reach us at gadawgs@sports.uga.edu or 877-423-2947. If you have not met your base but want to retain your season tickets, please contact us immediately.” In other words, that donation deadline that passed last month appears to remain extremely flexible.


The family of Johnathan Taylor, the UGA baseball player whose neck was injured in a game this past weekend, has put up a website to provide updates on his condition. You can check it out here. Our thoughts and prayers are with you, JT!

Find me on Facebook.

Follow me on Twitter.

— Bill King, Junkyard Blawg

112 comments Add your comment


March 9th, 2011
11:07 am

Jake Scott was AMAZING. He had a great sense of anticipating the throw and ‘baiting ‘ the Quarterback. Hit with reckless abandon. As far as kick off returns he kepy his hands relaxed to his sides to last second leaving the defense looking to see where the ball was then like a fox he take it and squirt thru the first defensive wave. Fun memories of a Bulldog Hall of Famer.

Bama Dawg

March 9th, 2011
11:58 am

Red Dog 77, I was sitting in the pouring rain at the Gator Bowl in ‘68 when Jake ran two punts back for TD’s and we beat the FL 51 to 0. Also sat in Sanford stadium and watch Woerner single handedly beat Clemson with a 98 yard interception return and a punt return for a TD. Both great players, great Bulldogs and well deserving of selectin to the HOF

radly dawg

March 9th, 2011
2:19 pm

Hey Dawg 39…ol Bill’s there already…and deservedly so!!!!! Go Dawgs!!!
Radly Dawg

Buck Blew

March 9th, 2011
2:54 pm

Buck Blew certainly deserves mention. He threw the most important pass in UGA history. Well, next most important. Damon Evans threw quite a pass in Atlanta. Like Run Lindsay Run, Evans completed his pass and a score was made.

jimmie howard

March 9th, 2011
3:36 pm

1. Erk Russell. 2. Jake Scott. 3. Scott Woerner. 4. Matt Stinchcomb. in that order for the next four years. We must never give up on getting Coach Russell’s name in the Hall even if it requires changing the rule for qualification!


March 9th, 2011
11:21 pm

In addition to the 3 listed, I would add Garrison Hearst (to the guy who dissed him as overrated, bite me). Also, I agree with others, Erk should definitely be in the College Football Hall of Fame. He was great in every way: an inspiration to his players, a great assistant coach, a man with a great perspective on the game and life, and when given the opportunity, a great head coach who built an entire program from scratch. Hall of Fame by and standard (except, apparently, the official HOF rules?).


March 9th, 2011
11:22 pm

correction “any standard”

Big Dawg

March 11th, 2011
12:23 pm

I forgot about Coach Russell– one of the greatest a real motivator he would do anything for you, would get down in the dirt and show you. He was an intense guy on the field but one of the nicest and kindest off the field. I believe Stichcomb belongs but he was no where near the player that Mike Moonpie Wilson was or Royce Smith. Anothe big OL that you don’t hear much about anymore.

Go Dawgs


March 14th, 2011
10:36 pm

Come on!!!!! Bill Stanfield definitely should be in the Hall of Fame.


March 14th, 2011
10:39 pm

Oops!!! did not see Stanfill’s name in the article.


March 14th, 2011
10:42 pm

Russell needs to be in the Hall of Fame just for what he did at Georgia Southern alone. It is a disgrace that he has not already been elected with what he did for Georgia. The work at Southern was just a classic miracle above and beyond everything else he did. Big oversight by someone.


March 14th, 2011
10:51 pm

If Donnan is in Erk Russell should also. If he had nine years as a head coach he certainly did not get the one extra year just to qualify for the Hall of Fame.. He turned the Southern team over to Stowers who won the national championship the next year after starting 0-3. The 10 year rule as head coach is the only thing keeping him out?? What a disgrace. Dawg Fans and Eagle fans should unite to promote him for the HOF.