Black College Hall of Fame finalists announced

Some of the top players and coaches in Black College Football history are among the 35 finalists for the Black College Football Hall of Fame.

The inaugural 11-person induction class (eight players, two coaches and one contributor) will be announced the first week of January and honored at the Black College Football Hall of Fame enshrinement ceremony Feb. 20 in Atlanta. For more information on the induction class or the enshrinement ceremony, visit the Black College HOF website by clicking here.

More than 260 nominations were received and the list was paired down to the following:

Player Finalists

Lem Barney (DB, Jackson State University, 1963-1966)

Mel Blount (DB, Southern University, 1966-1970)

Robert Brazile (LB, Jackson State University, 1971-1975)

Rosevelt Brown (OL, Morgan State University, 1949-1952)

Willie Brown (DB, Grambling State University, 1959-1963)

Junious “Buck” Buchanan (DE, Grambling State University, 1959-1963)

Harry Carson (DE, South Carolina State University, 1972-1975)

Willie Davis (DL, Grambling State University, 1952-1956)

Eldridge Dickey (Tennessee State University, 1964-1967)

Willie “Gallopin’ Gal” Galimore (RB, Florida A&M University, 1953-1956)

Joe Gilliam, Jr. (QB, Tennessee State University, 1966-1969)

“Bullet” Bob Hayes (WR/RB/KR, Florida A&M University, 1960-1964)

David “Deacon” Jones (DE, South Carolina State and Mississippi Valley State, 1958-1960)

Ed “Too Tall” Jones (DL, Tennessee State University, 1970-1973)

Leroy Kelly (RB, Morgan State University, 1960-1963)

Willie “Honey Bear” Lanier (LB, Morgan State University, 1963-1967)

Steve McNair (QB, Alcorn State University, 1991-1994)

Marion Motley (RB/LB, South Carolina State University, 1939-1942)

Walter “Sweetness” Payton (RB, Jackson State University, 1971-1974)

Jerry Rice (WR, Mississippi Valley State University, 1981-1984)

Willie “Wonderful Willie” Richardson (WR, Jackson State University, 1959-1962)

Art Shell (OL, University of Maryland-Eastern Shore, 1964-1967)

Ben “Big Ben” Stevenson (RB, Tuskegee University, 1923-1930)

Willie “Satellite” Totten (Mississippi Valley State University, 1982-1985)

Paul “Tank” Younger (RB/DB, Grambling State University, 1945-1948)

Coach Finalists

Earl Banks (Head Coach, Morgan State University, 1960-1973)

Marino “The Godfather” Casem (Head Coach, Alcorn State University, 1963-1992)

Alonzo “Jake” Gaither (Head Coach, Florida A&M University, 1945-1969)

Willie Jeffries (Head Coach, South Carolina State University, 1973-2001)

John “Big John” Merritt (Head Coach, Tennessee State University, 1953-1983)

Ace Mumford (Head Coach, Southern University, 1927-1961)

Eddie G. Robinson (Head Coach, Grambling State University, 1941-1997)

Contributor Finalists

Ralph Waldo Emerson Jones (President, Grambling State University)

Collie J. Nicholson (Sports Information Director, Grambling State University)

Bill Nunn, Jr. (Pittsburgh Courier Reporter and Pittsburgh Steelers NFL Scout)

6 comments Add your comment


December 10th, 2009
4:27 pm

That’s a Who’s Who’s of Black College Football. I was fortunate to see some of the Rattlers and Jake Gaither’s Blood, Sweat, and Tears squads. IMOP, those guys are legends. Congrats to them all.

Todd - Dacula

December 10th, 2009
6:57 pm

John Stallworth, Alfred Jenkins?


December 11th, 2009
12:33 pm

Can you publish the list of all 260 players, thanks.

Leo Willingham

December 11th, 2009
2:53 pm


Unfortunately I don’t have the complete list, but I’m sure you could probably get it from one of the members of the selection committee. You can probably contact someone by finding them on the Black College HOF website (link listed above in the body of the blog).


December 13th, 2009
12:25 am

What an amazing list of athletes!!! Look at these guys versus the role models that the black community has today!

jack lester

December 15th, 2009
3:41 pm

How can Rayfield Wright not be on this list from Fort Valley State University? He is a NFL Hall of Famer.

Add your comment