Tech ACC schedule released

The ACC schedule for the Georgia Tech men’s basketball isn’t as front-loaded as it was last season, but it will bring its own peril.

Back-to-back road games at Duke and North Carolina and another stretch in which the Yellow Jackets will play six games in a 17-day stretch appear to be the toughest challenges of the ACC schedule, released Wednesday.

Each team will play 18 league games, a first for the conference. Tech will play home-and-home with Clemson, Miami, North Carolina, N.C. State, Virginia, Virginia Tech and Wake Forest. Of those seven, North Carolina, N.C. State and Virginia made the NCAA tournament last season.

Four of the nine home games will be weeknight contests, with two of them (Feb. 5 against Florida State and Feb. 19 against North Carolina) tipping off at 9 p.m.

All of Tech’s ACC games will be televised on ESPN, ESPN2, ESPNU, the ACC Network or the ACC’s regional cable network. The Jackets’ Jan. 17 game at Duke will be broadcast on ESPN or ESPN2, while its following game at North Carolina Jan. 23 will be on ESPN.

Schedule with date, opponent and television outlet

Nov. 9 Fri. TULANE - tbd
Nov. 14 Wed. PRESBYTERIAN - tbd
Nov. 22 Thu. Rice (Anaheim Classic, Anaheim, Calif.) ESPNU 9 p.m.
Nov. 23 Fri. California or Drake (Anaheim Classic, Anaheim, Calif.) ESPN2 or U tbd
Nov. 25 Sun. Finals (Anaheim Classic, Anaheim, Calif.) ESPN2 or U tbd
Nov. 28 Wed. at Illinois (ACC-Big Ten Challenge) ESPN2 9 p.m.
Dec. 4 Tue. GEORGIA - tbd
Dec. 8 Sat. UNC-WILMINGTON - tbd
Dec. 17 Mon. ALABAMA STATE - tbd
Dec. 22 Sat. THE CITADEL - tbd
Dec. 29 Sat. FORDHAM - tbd
Jan. 2 Wed. CHATTANOOGA - tbd
Jan. 5 Sat. MIAMI ACCN 2:30 p.m.
Jan. 9 Wed. at NC State ACCN 8 p.m.
Jan. 12 Sat. VIRGINIA TECH ACCN 2:30 p.m.
Jan. 17 Thu. at Duke ESPN/ESPN2 9 p.m.
Jan. 23 Wed. at North Carolina ESPN 9 p.m.
Jan. 26 Sat. WAKE FOREST ACCN 3 p.m.
Jan. 29 Tue. at Clemson RSN 7 p.m.
Feb. 3 Sun. VIRGINIA ESPNU 3 p.m.
Feb. 5 Tue. FLORIDA STATE RSN 9 p.m.
Feb. 9 Sat. at Virginia Tech RSN 1 p.m.
Feb. 14 Thu. CLEMSON RSN 7 p.m.
Feb. 16 Sat. at Wake Forest RSN 2 p.m.
Feb. 19 Tue. NORTH CAROLINA ACCN 9 p.m.
Feb. 24 Sun. at Virginia ACCN 2 p.m.
Feb. 27 Wed. MARYLAND ACCN 8 p.m.
Mar. 3 Sun. NC STATE ESPNU 6 p.m.
Mar. 6 Wed. at Miami ACCN 9 p.m.
Mar. 9 Sat.. at Boston College ACCN 12 noon
Mar. 14-17 Thu.-Sun. ACC Tournament, Greensboro, N.C. ESPN/2/U/ACCN tbd

10 comments Add your comment

Tech Fan

August 22nd, 2012
4:10 pm

Let’s get off to a fast start this season, Jackets!

FL Jacket

August 22nd, 2012
4:24 pm

The ACC is insance for not moving the ACC Tournament to a larger Coliseum-type venue.

crackbaby

August 22nd, 2012
5:44 pm

@FL Jacket – How big you want it to be?

Greensboro Coliseum holds 20,000+ (23,500 according to wikipedia). Hoops shouldn’t be played in any venue larger than that.

Paul in NH

August 22nd, 2012
5:48 pm

FLJ
The only basketball arenas bigger than the Greensboro Coliseun are Rupp and the Carrier Dome. Unfortunately, in the last few years the ACC has been having trouble selling out the tourney – and they would never sell it out in a Dome.

Paul in NH

August 22nd, 2012
5:51 pm

Ken – You made the comment about GT playing back to back in Durham and CH – heck, the toughest game in the Triangle could be in Raleigh this year, and GT plays there 2 games earlier. The ACC schedule makers have done GT no favors.

ormewood

August 22nd, 2012
6:32 pm

Paul, you are correct. The Wolfpack will be stout this year. Tech plays road games versus all of the Triangle teams. Won’t get much tougher than that.

hoodoo

August 22nd, 2012
6:57 pm

wow just like in football, pres the second game of the season.

ToeMeetsLeather

August 22nd, 2012
8:13 pm

18-12(8-10)

Back to the NCAAT in 2014.

Dukie Vitale

August 22nd, 2012
9:13 pm

I’ll be in the house @ the Duke game giving Coach K mad love!

collegeballfan

August 23rd, 2012
11:38 am

GT is a year away from the NCAA.