Albert Wilson shares CAA Special Teams Player of the Year Award

Georgia State’s Albert Wilson was named the Co-Special Teams Player of the Year in the Colonial Athletic Association earlier today by the conference’s coaches.

Wilson led the conference with a kickoff return average of 25.9 yards to make the all-conference first team in that category. Wilson shared player-of-the-year honor with William and Mary’s B.W. Webb.

Wilson, a junior from Port St. Lucie, Fla., was also named third-team all-conference as a wide receiver after catching 48 passes for 947 yards with seven touchdowns. He led the conference by averaging 164.5 all-purpose yards per game.

Matt Hubbard, a sophomore from Peachtree City, earned second-team all-conference honors after averaging 43.1 yards per punt.

Donald Russell was named third team after finishing with 747 rushing yards. He led the CAA before sustaining a season-ending knee injury against Villanova in the eighth game.

Former Collins Hill star Taylor Heinicke was named the CAA’s Offensive Player of the Year.

– Doug Roberson, AJC and Please follow me on twitter @ajcgsu

Here are the teams:

CAA Award Winners

Coach of the Year: Andy Talley, Villanova

Offensive Player of the Year: Taylor Heinicke, QB, Old Dominion

Defensive Player of the Year: Stephon Robertson, LB, James Madison

Special Teams Players of the Year: B.W. Webb and Albert Wilson

Offensive Rookie of the Year: John Robertson, QB, Villanova

Defensive Rookie of the Year: Jeff Williams, LB, Delaware

All-Conference Teams

First Team (as voted on by the head coaches)


Position Player School Class

QB Taylor Heinicke Old Dominion Sophomore

RB Kevin Monangai Villanova Sophomore

RB Terrance West Towson Sophomore

FB/HB Kendall Gaskins Richmond Senior

WR Ben Edwards Richmond Junior

WR R.J. Harris New Hampshire Sophomore

WR Nick Mayers Old Dominion Senior

TE Justin Perillo Maine Junior

OL Randall Harris Towson Junior

OL Chris Howley Maine Senior

OL Seamus O’Neill New Hampshire Junior

OL Eric Pike Towson Junior

OL Earl Watford James Madison Senior

PK Jarod Brown Old Dominion Junior

KR Albert Wilson Georgia State Junior

PR Ryan Smith James Madison Senior


Position Player School Class

DL Frank Beltre Towson Senior

DL Chris Burnette Old Dominion Senior

DL Rakim Cox Villanova Junior

DL Antoine Lewis Villanova Junior

DL Jared Smith New Hampshire Senior

LB Donte Dennis Maine Senior

LB Matt Evans New Hampshire Senior

LB Stephon Robertson James Madison Junior

LB Paul Worrilow Delaware Senior

CB Eric Loper Villanova Senior

CB B.W. Webb William and Mary Senior

S Jordan Dangerfield Towson Senior

S Dean Marlowe James Madison Sophomore

S Cooper Taylor Richmond Senior

P Jonathan Plisco Old Dominion Senior

Second Team (as voted on by the head coaches)


Position Player School Class

QB Grant Enders Towson Senior

RB Dae’Quan Scott James Madison Junior

RB Nico Steriti New Hampshire Sophomore

FB/HB Brian Barlow James Madison Senior

WR Tre McBride William and Mary Sophomore

WR Antonio Vaughan Old Dominion Sophomore

WR Nihja White Delaware Senior

TE Kevin Finney Richmond Senior

OL David Born Old Dominion Junior

OL Josh Bucci Villanova Junior

OL Bobby Kennedy Delaware Junior

OL Mike Salazar William and Mary Senior

OL Doug Shaw Towson Junior

OL Josh Spearin Maine Senior

PK Cameron Starke James Madison Junior

KR Justin Grant Richmond Sophomore

PR B.W. Webb William and Mary Senior


Position Player School Class

DL Marlon Johnson Villanova Senior

DL Evan Kelly Richmond Sophomore

DL Zach Kerr Delaware Junior

DL Romale Tucker Towson Senior

LB Devon Bridges Villanova Senior

LB Monte Gaddis Towson Junior

LB Darius McMillan Richmond Senior

LB Jabrel Mines William and Mary Senior

LB Craig Wilkins Old Dominion Senior

CB Darlos James Maine Senior

CB Jordan Love Towson Junior

CB Dontra Peters New Hampshire Senior

S Manny Asam New Hampshire Junior

S Brian Thompson William and Mary Senior

P Matt Hubbard Georgia State Sophomore

Third Team (as voted on by the head coaches)


Position Player School Class

QB John Robertson Villanova Freshman

RB Andrew Pierce Delaware Junior

RB Donald Russell Georgia State Senior

WR Stephen Barnette Richmond Sophomore

WR Brandon Johnson-Farrell Rhode Island Senior

WR Tom Ryan Towson Senior

WR Norman White Villanova Senior

WR Albert Wilson Georgia State Junior

TE Harold Spears New Hampshire Sophomore

OL Mike Coccia New Hampshire Sophomore

OL Brandon Heath Delaware Junior

OL Vince Kowalski Villanova Sophomore

OL Jack Lowney Old Dominion Junior

OL Nick Ritcher Richmond Sophomore

OL Chris Zarkoskie New Hampshire Senior

PK Mike MacArthur New Hampshire Junior

KR Derrick Joseph Towson Sophomore

PR Poppy Livers Villanova Sophomore


Position Player School Class

DL Dominique Guinn-Bailey Old Dominion Sophomore

DL Matt Morgan Towson Senior

DL Tyler Snow James Madison Junior

DL Nick Zaremba William and Mary Senior

LB Andrew Bose Rhode Island Sophomore

LB Luke Rhodes William and Mary Freshman

LB Jeff Williams Delaware Freshman

LB Eric Wright Richmond Sophomore

CB Jamaal Bess Rhode Island Junior

CB Darryl Hamilton Richmond Senior

CB Tye Smith Towson Sophomore

S Jerome Couplin William and Mary Junior

S Jakarie Jackson James Madison Senior

S Joe Sarnese Villanova Sophomore

P Drake Kuhn William and Mary Junior

P David Skahn James Madison Senior

3 comments Add your comment

John Bond

November 20th, 2012
10:04 am

You’re welcome.

Chicken Bone

November 20th, 2012
12:49 pm

Congrats, Albert, Donald and Matt! John Bond what…? lol

Astonishing Werepanther

November 23rd, 2012
11:41 am

Proud of these Panthers. Happy to see them recognized!