List/Trivia/Quote: 12 teams have reached final with four or more losses


Charlton County is the 12th team in state finals history with four or more losses. Only two have won state titles. Here are the 12 teams with their records entering the championship game:

2013 Charlton County (9-4)

2010 Colquitt County (9-5)

2002 Dooly County (8-6)

2001 Bowdon (10-4)

1995 Cedar Shoals (10-4)

1992 Thomas Co. Cent. (9-5)*

1989 Greene-Taliaferro (8-6)

1988 Palmetto (8-4)

1975 Dalton (9-4)

1968 Gainesville (9-4)

1965 West Rome (6-5-1)*

1958 Decatur (6-6)

*Won state final.


Answer to Tuesday’s question: The five Georgia head coaches who have won five or more state titles in the GHSA era are Wright Bazemore of Valdosta (14), Larry Campbell of Lincoln County (11), Nick Hyder of Valdosta (7), Ed Pilcher of Thomas County Central (5), Charlie Grisham of Carrollton (5) and Jess Simpson of Buford (5).


“No excuses.”

- Central Gwinnett coach Todd Wofford

GHSF Daily asked coaches during the offseason if they have a favorite quote, saying or motto. We’ll run a different one each day. Coaches are invited to add to our list.

Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter. To join the mailing list, click here.

One comment Add your comment


December 11th, 2013
12:24 pm

Intersting, 1965 & 1968 games involved St. Pius X. Losing in 1965 & winning in 1968.