2-AA all-region team: Bryan County’s Scott named top player

Here is the all-region team for 2-AA, as chosen by the league’s coaches:

Player of the year: Nick Scott, Bryan County

Offensive player of the year: Tra Hardy, Vidalia

Defensive players of the year: D’Vontae Bedford, McIntosh County Academy; Conner West, Metter

Special teams player of the year: John Solitario, Benedictine

Athlete of the year: Mike Huggins, Benedictine

Punter of the year: Brandon Dow, Toombs County

Place-kicker of the year: Carlos Giron, Vidalia

First team


OL – Evan Strickland, Long County

OL – Brett Bacon, Bryan County

OL – Jay Jackson, Bacon County

OL – Darius Scott, Toombs County

OL – Wade Whitley, Atkinson County

OL – Sean Fogerty, Benedictine

OL – John Hallows, Benedictine

OL – Tristan Harkleroad, Benedictine

OL – Matt Nieport, McIntosh County Academy

OL – Julian McCaig, Vidalia

OL – Shakeem Lassiter, Vidalia

OL – Daniel Copeland, Vidalia

WR – Brad Stewart, Benedictine

WR – Jordan Black, Vidalia

WR – Kajana Dixon, Bryan County

WR – Brian Sounds, McIntosh County Academy

WR – Raekwon Love, Bryan County

RB – Jamar Simith, Toombs County

RB – Justin Parrish, Metter

RB – Jon Gaines, Benedictine

RB – Chance Jackson, Benedictine

RB – Vanda Vereen, Long County

QB – D.J. Mincey, Vidalia

TE – Eric Hester, Toombs County

FB – Kyle South, Benedictine

FB – Anthony Florence, Bacon


DL – Raymond Mesa – Long County

DL – Chakie Johnson, McIntosh County Academy

DL – Phillip Burke, Benedictine

DL – Josh Eason – Vidalia

DL – Devin Johnson, Vidalia

DL – JJ Johnson, Atkinson County

DL – Keagan Meeks, Atkinson County

DL – Austin Rayhon, McIntosh County Academy

DL – Hunter Bond, McIntosh County Academy

DL – Matthew Provence, Benedictine

LB – Damion Dixon, Bryan County

LB – BJ Harrison, Metter

LB – Ronnie Peterson, Bacon County

LB – Miles McGinty, Benedictine

LB – Jermaine Morris, Vidalia

LB – Gerald Rhymes, McIntosh County Academy

LB – Josh Williams, Benedictine

DB – Droell Green, Bacon County

DB – Ben Wright, Benedictine

DB – Juwan Miller, Vidalia

DB – Troy Robertson, Bryan County

DB – K.K. Riley, Atkinson County

DB – Jeffrey Love, Metter

DB – Chris Mobley, Toombs County

DB – Dequan Glover, Long County

Second team


OL – Randall Behrendt, Long County

OL – Nick Johnston, Metter

OL – Kenny King, Metter

OL – Chace Collins, Bryan County

OL – Curt Harper, Jeff Davis

OL – Trevor Williams, Bacon County

OL – Gary Jones, Toombs County

OL – Zane O’Brien, Atkinson County

OL – Francisco Contreras, Atkinson County

OL – Carlton Brown, Benedictine

OL – Grayson Hulett, McIntosh County Academy

OL – Ivey Kennedy, Vidalia

WR – Dreshon Floyd, Atkinson County

WR – Deke Landers, Atkinson County

WR – David Pringle, McIntosh County Academy

WR – Dashon Halloway, Vidalia

WR – Devonta O’Neal, Bacon County

RB – Tryon Folsom, Bacon County

RB – Ulysses Carswell, McIntosh County Academy

RB – Romello Palmer, McIntosh County Academy

RB – Tyus Wesley, Atkinson County

RB – Brandon Scott, Long County

RB – Chris Tarver, Metter

QB – Stevie Powers, Benedictine

TE – Glen Berkheimer, Vidalia

FB – Dedrick Johnson, Vidalia


DL – Theo Howard, McIntosh County Academy

DL – Mychoel Stanley, Long County

DL – Michael Ewins, Jeff Davis

DL – Jacob Carver, Bacon County

DL – Cole Dowd, Toombs County

DL – Darius Brown, Vidalia

LB – Nick Stock, Long County

LB – Dominique Mock, Bryan County

LB – Devante Hayes, Metter

LB – Marcus Tucker, Atkinson County

LB – Antonio Madison, Bacon County

LB – Kyle Wilcox, Bacon County

LB – Ronald Palmer, McIntosh County Academy

LB – O’akeem Franklin, Benedictine

LB – Nathan McBride, Vidalia

DB – Marcus Johnson, Bryan County

DB – Jacob Wedinchamp, Metter

DB – D.J. Adkins, Long County

DB – Malik Kelly, Metter

DB – Devante Button, Bacon County

DB – Demetrice Baker, Toombs County

DB – Ty Jones, Atkinson County

DB – Conrad Fonseca Benedictine

Honorable mention: OL – Wes McManus, Metter; Josh Nagley, Bryan County; Trenton Mathis, Jeff Davis; Jeremiah Littles, McIntosh County Academy; Dylan Brown, Benedictine; William Merritt, Bacon County. WR – Cameron Calhoun, Jeff Davis; Dalthon Allmond, Bacon County; Richard Romeo, McIntosh County Academy. QB – Jeremy McClendon, Bryan County; Laquavis Kelly, Metter; Tyree Johnson, Atkinson County. HB – Keishawn Wagner, Long County; Wenner Rodriquez, Jeff Davis; Ameterivs Williams, Bacon County; M’Calum Lanier, Atkinson County. TE – Ellison Burns, Benedictine. DL – Bland Tucker, Metter; D.J. Owens, Benedictine; Nolon McNamara, Benedictine. LB – Armondo Toledo, Long County; Walker Lanier, Metter; Freddie Martinez, Metter; Markus Johnson, Bryan County; Ross Dubberly, Jeff Davis; Reggie Thomas, Jeff Davis; Pasun Sams, Bacon County; Cameron Connor, Toombs County; Landon Cowart, Toombs County; Devonte Glaze, Atkinson County; John Littles, McIntosh Academy. DB – Colby Carter, Jeff Davis; Anasico Washington, Atkinson County; James Etheridge, Toombs County; Blake Corbett, Vidalia; Zuquon Gaffney, Vidalia

Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter. To join the mailing list, click here.

One comment Add your comment

Pam Anglin

November 27th, 2013
3:08 pm

Please correct……First team OL Matt Neiport – McIntosh County