Softball: Gwinnett, Henry each home to two champions

By Stephen Black

Score Atlanta

Collins Hill won the Class AAAAAA state title for the fourth time in five years behind a prolific offense that scored five or more runs in six of the Eagles’ nine playoff games. The Eagles were led by seniors Jordan Adicks, Shelly Mooney, Calli Star and Laine Simmons. Coach Paul Pierce’s squad lost just one playoff game, to Harrison in the double-elimination championship bracket.

Buford won its seventh consecutive state title and second in a row in Class AAA. The Wolves lost just one game all year, to Collins Hill during the regular season. Buford stars Bria Bush (Tennessee), Tessa Daniels (Florida State), Jordan Deep (Georgia Tech), senior Noah Sudderth (Georgia Gwinnett College) and senior Morgan Walters (Missouri) are each committed to play at the next level.

In Class AAAAA, Ola won its first softball state title in school history, but it was the second straight championship by a Henry County school as Union Grove won it last year. Also in Henry County, Eagle’s Landing Christian won its fifth softball state title and first since 2009, its last of four straight state titles.

5 comments Add your comment


November 6th, 2013
3:51 pm

Congrats to Ola and ELCA for a fine season. This shows that hard word pays. State Champions reside in the Southern Crescent.

Swamp Lizard

November 7th, 2013
5:57 am

Way to go ELCA girls !! Proud of y’all !! ……. & love goes out to Ola too !!

Dr Fever

November 7th, 2013
9:04 am

It is really seven straight for Buford. The Hill rocks! Congrats to both teams!

Buford Nana

November 7th, 2013
5:03 pm

As a matter of fact, this is Buford’s 7th straight state win. Don’t slight us a year.

Prep Zone

November 11th, 2013
11:42 am

We made the change to seventh straight championship for Buford.