List/Trivia/Quote: Twelve teams have played in Kell Classic and won state title


A four-year streak was ended last season when none of the Corky Kell Classic teams won a state championship. Twelve teams have played in the Kell and won state titles in the same season since the event began in 1992.

1996 Brookwood

1997 Parkview

1997 Thomas County Central

1998 Carrollton

2000 Parkview

2001 Parkview

2002 Parkview

2006 Roswell

2008 Camden County

2009 Camden County

2010 Brookwood

2011 Grayson


Corky Kell, the co-founder of the Corky Kell Classic, was a head coach for which school that played in a state championship game in the 1970s? (Answer Monday)

Answer to Thursday’s question: The five head coaches in this year’s Corky Kell Classic who have won state championships are Grayson’s Mickey Conn, Brookwood’s Mark Crews, Colquitt County’s Rush Propst, North Gwinnett’s Bob Sphire and Camden County’s Welton Coffey. Propst won five in Alabama. Sphire won one in Kentucky. Coffey won one in Florida.


“A loss is not the end of the world, and a win is not the end of the work.”

- KIPP Atlanta Collegiate coach Darrell Caldwell

GHSF Daily asked coaches during the offseason if they have a favorite quote, saying or motto. We’ll run a different one each day. Coaches are invited to add to our list.

Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter. To join the mailing list, click here.

5 comments Add your comment


August 23rd, 2013
8:31 am

Corky Kell coached at Wheeler High School in the 70’s.

Max Sizemore

August 23rd, 2013
9:23 am

Too easy, Todd. Most of us old guys know the answer to that one. How about, which was the last Cobb County team to win a state championship in the 20th century?


August 23rd, 2013
11:24 am

Marietta, Max.

Max Sizemore

August 23rd, 2013
1:16 pm

May French Johnson rest in peace.


August 23rd, 2013
6:49 pm

Keep Camden coming to the CKC…….. :-D