List/Trivia/Quote: 12 all-class players of the year who were not Super 11s


There have been 12 players to win the AJC’s all-classification award who were not named to the Super 11 team in preseason:

2012 – RB Alvin Kamara, Norcross

2011 – DL *Robert Nkemdiche, Grayson

2010 – QB Tim Byerly, Chattahoochee

2007 – RB *Washaun Ealey, ECI

2005 – QB Antonio Henton, Peach County

1999 – LB Travis Harris, SW DeKalb

1996 – RB Paul Freeman, Brookwood

1994 – LB Takeo Spikes, Washington County

1993 – RB Rod Perrymond, Dunwoody

1992 – LB Marcus Williams, Valdosta

1988 – RB Herbert Mingo, Clinch County

1986 – QB Greg Talley, Valdosta

*Won the award as juniors, who are not eligible for Super 11 recognition.


Five of the 10 head coaches in this year’s Corky Kell Classic have won state championships. Who are they? (Answer Friday)

Answer to Wednesday’s question: Billy Ray of Dunwoody (1985) and Keith Henderson of Cartersville (1984) are  the only AJC all-classification players of the year whose teams did not make the playoffs.


“Show class, have pride and display character. If you do, winning takes care of itself.” (Bear Bryant)

- Chattahoochee coach Michael Owens

GHSF Daily asked coaches during the offseason if they have a favorite quote, saying or motto. We’ll run a different one each day. Coaches are invited to add to our list.

Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter. To join the mailing list, click here.

2 comments Add your comment


August 22nd, 2013
11:24 am

keith henderson and the cartersville purle hurricanes with a 6-4 record did not make the playoffs in 1984, so your trivia question is not entirely correct

Todd Holcomb

August 22nd, 2013
6:56 pm

Hurricane – You are correct. Fixed.