List/Trivia/Quote: Campbell’s 42 seasons most in Class A


These are the longest-tenured coaches in Class A (the numbers of seasons listed include 2013):

42 – Larry Campbell, Lincoln County

24 – Rich McWhorter, Charlton County

23 – Michael Gunn, Athens Academy

20 – Don Williams, George Walton Academy

18 – James Hagins, Wilkinson County

16 – John Williams, Calhoun County

15 – Vincent Huff, Terrell County

14 – Greg Moore, First Presbyterian

13 – Mark Ledford, Wilcox County

12 – Tommy Atha, Darlington

12 – Chris Kelley, Glascock County


Which teams (if any) were ranked No. 1 from wire to wire last season? (Answer Tuesday)

Answer to Friday’s question: Schools that have won three state championships in a four-year span since 2000 are Buford, Sandy Creek, Parkview, Lowndes and Charlton County.


“We will not become you. You will become us.”

- Camden County coach Welton Coffey

GHSF Daily asked coaches during the offseason if they have a favorite quote, saying or motto. We’ll run a different one each day. Coaches are invited to add to our list.

Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter. To join the mailing list, click here.

2 comments Add your comment

Hubie Green

August 19th, 2013
1:58 pm

Larry Campbell has had an amazing run at Lincoln Co. He was old school when new school was old school. He is one of the best all time in the history of high school football.

mike smith

August 20th, 2013
9:05 am

My coach in Summerville has been coaching for 62 years with over 600 wins.