List/Trivia/Quote: Bowdon’s Hochstetler the longest-serving coach in AA


These are the longest-tenured coaches in Class AA (the numbers of seasons listed include 2013):

26 – Dwight Hochstetler, Bowdon

22 – Gerry Romberg, Westminster

18 – Jimmie Lewis, Harlem

15 – Hal Lamb, Calhoun

13 – Trey Woolf, Early County

12 – Roger Holmes, Dublin

12 – Tim Barron, Heard County

11 – Tony Byram, Crawford Co.

10 – Bruce Mullen, Northeast

10 – Chris Kirksey, Taylor Co.


Reigning state champions Sandy Creek and Buford have won three state titles in the past four seasons. Which other three schools have accomplished that feat since 2000? (Answer Monday)

Answer to Thursday’s question: The last northeast Georgia school to win a state title in football before Gainesville and Jefferson last season was Commerce in 2000.


“The spirit, the will to win and the will to excel – these are the things what will endure, and these are the qualities that are so much more important than any of the events themselves.” (Vince Lombardi)

- Mount Pisgah Christian coach Mike Forester

GHSF Daily asked coaches during the offseason if they have a favorite quote, saying or motto. We’ll run a different one each day. Coaches are invited to add to our list.

Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter. To join the mailing list, click here.

Comments are closed.