List/Trivia/Quote: Two current NFL players highlighted 2003 Super 11


The 2013 Atlanta Journal-Constitution Super 11 team will be announced in two weeks. Here is the Super 11 team from 10 years ago. Two members are in the NFL, both named Johnson.

RB Thomas Brown, Tucker

WR A.J. Bryant, Peach County

OL Jeremy Ciulla, Kennesaw Mountain

DB Michael Grant, Stephenson

WR Calvin Johnson, Sandy Creek

DL Charles Johnson, Hawkinsville

RB Brad Lester, Parkview

DL Eric McClendon, Vidalia

LB Brandon Miller, Miller County

RB Darius Walker, Buford

LB Lorenzo Washington, Grayson


T. McFerrin retired after winning a state championship as head coach of Jefferson in 2012. Before McFerrin, who was the last Georgia head coach to retire after winning a state championship? (Answer Friday)


“To love what you do and feel it matters. How can anything else be better?” (Katharine Meyer Graham)

- Douglas County coach Jason Respert

Coach Speak, a new feature in Georgia High School Football Daily, is a collection of favorite quotes, sayings and mottos submitted by Georgia high school football coaches.

Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter. To join the mailing list, click here.

6 comments Add your comment

Jeff Cottrell

August 1st, 2013
7:46 am

Sports betting has cemented its feet on the web now. It has been over a decade now that the Sports betting websites are there on the internet. There are many sports betting websites on the internet over which you can bet easily rather than going to other cities or go out in search of a sports bookie.

2000 DeKalb Defensive Player of the Year

August 1st, 2013
8:23 am

Is there a count of which Georgia High School has the most Super 11 representatives? I would mind seeing where on the list Stephenson falls.


August 1st, 2013
11:41 am

Trivia: Dexter Wood (Buford)

True Blue

August 2nd, 2013
12:06 am

Stephenson probably only had Kregg Lumpkin, Marcus Ball and Josh Johnson that i know of to make Super 11

Todd Holcomb

August 2nd, 2013
8:07 am

True Blue – Josh Johnson didn’t make it, but teammate Michael Brant did. Also, Jarontay Jones in 2011.

2000 – Believe it not, the school with the most Super 11’s is … Dunwoody! They’ve had none since 1998. They had two the first year in Jeff Brown and Billy Ray (1985). Next with seven are Tucker, Parkview, LaGrange and Peach County. Having one of the top 11 is more random that people realize.

Todd Holcomb

August 2nd, 2013
8:14 am

Jon – Dexter Wood’s last Buford team reached the championship game but lost to Charlton County. Good guess, actually. I thought that was going to be the answer. Conrad Nix also reached the c’ship game in his final season at Northside.

Answer is here: