Sweep success: Norcross, Miller Grove, Columbia, St. Francis try to win boys, girls titles

Columbia’s boys and girls teams will be the first four pairs trying to sweep state titles this week in Macon.

Columbia’s girls play Sandy Creek today (Thursday) at 7 p.m., and the boys follow against Eagle’s Landing.

The other three schools trying to sweep the boys and girls titles are Norcross (AAAAAA), Miller Grove (AAAAA) and St. Francis (A private).

Columbia and Miller Grove can become the first schools to sweep the titles in consecutive seasons.

‘’It’s been an exciting ride,’’ said Miller Grove girls coach Renee Breedlove, whose team plays Southwest DeKalb on Friday. ‘’Last year the boys coach [Sharman White] told us to take care of business and that they’ll come right behind us and take care of theirs. At the beginning of this season, we both talked about back-to-back sweeps. It seems like we’re both in tune with this same goal.’’

It’s happened only 14 times that a school has swept the boys and girls titles, although it’s increasingly common.

From 1945, the year of the first girls tournament, through 2005, it happened only seven times, none since 1987. But since 2006, it’s happened seven more times.

Miller Grove and Columbia did it last year, Norcross the year before.

The first school to sweep, Stilson of Bulloch County, had a coach who led the boys and girls teams. That was S.A. Driggers. There have been 11 coaches to win boys and girls titles, but only Driggers did it in the same season.

Roopville’s 1959 boys and girls champions were coached by a husband and wife.  Render Caswell was the boys coach. Gladys Caswell was the girls coach. Render was the school principal. Gladys was considered the better coach of the two.

Here are the 14 times that schools have swept the titles:

1952 – Stilson (C)
1958 – Murphy (AAA), Jeff Davis (AA)
1959 – Roopville (C)
1963 – Hart County (AA)
1972 – Greater Atlanta Christian (C)
1987 – Clinch County (A)
2006 – SW Atlanta Christian (A)
2008 – Wesleyan (AA)
2010 – Columbia (AAA), Wesleyan (A)
2011 – Norcross (AAAAA)
2012 – Miller Grove (AAAA), Columbia (AAA)

5 comments Add your comment


March 7th, 2013
2:03 pm

Tood, thanks for the research! It’s always interesting reading about this kind of history. Imagine what this list would look like if you included teams that also had boys and girls to play in the championship game, regardless of outcome. The ‘All DeKalb’ finals in 2012 is the most recent one with Miller Grove boys and girls defeating SWD boys and girls.

Regretfully we only remember the winners, not all who made it to that point….


March 7th, 2013
3:28 pm

Breedlove, I guess those B12 pills are working for the girls.

R. K. Biggs

March 7th, 2013
6:28 pm

Upset special: Gainesville will beat Miller Grove in Boys 5A game!

Dekalb Fan

March 7th, 2013
7:15 pm

Concerned!!! Sounds disgruntled to me. The show goes on

watchful eye

March 7th, 2013
7:43 pm

Concerned You tried that already and your child even said that was not true. Stop being a crab in the barrel and support or move on. Stop trying to tear Breedlove and the program they have worked hard get over it and just cheer for or against it doesn’t matter the Purple Palace is jumping….