Girls basketball rankings: No. 1’s are North Gwinnett, Tucker, Columbia, Buford, Wesleyan, SACA

Three of this week’s top-rated girls basketball teams (Columbia in AAAA, Wesleyan in AA and Southwest Atlanta Christian in A) were ranked No. 1 in the Journal-Constitution’s preseason poll. Two more preseason No. 1s (Miller Grove in AAAAA and Washington County in AAA) remain in the top four in their classifications.

The only preseason No. 1 that is unranked this week is Class AAAAAA McEachern, which has gotten hot after an 0-5 start.  North Gwinnett (13-0) is the new No. 1.

In Class AAAAA, Tucker holds the No. 1 spot despite a loss to Miller Grove on Friday. The top three teams from Region 6-AAAAA (Tucker, Stephenson and Miller Grove) have beaten each other head-to-head and have games remaining against each other.

No. 1 will meet No. 2 this week in two classifications.

In AAAA, DeKalb rivals Columbia and Redan will play at Columbia on Friday.

In Class AA, Wesleyan will play at Gwinnett rival Greater Atlanta Christian on Friday and then meet Class A No. 1 Southwest Atlanta Christian on Saturday.


1. North Gwinnett

2. Norcross

3. North Cobb

4. Parkview

5. Cherokee

6. Alpharetta

7. Hillgrove

8. Westlake

9. Woodstock

10. Mill Creek


1. Tucker

2. Stephenson

3. Kell

4. Miller Grove

5. McIntosh

6. Flowery Branch

7. Cedar Shoals

8. Osborne

9. Creekview

10. Forest Park

Class AAAA

1. Columbia

2. Redan

3. Cross Creek

4. Woodland-Stockbridge

5. Jonesboro

6. LaGrange

7. Carrollton

8. Howard

9. Monroe

10. Chestatee

Class AAA

1. Buford

2. Washington County

3. St. Pius

4. North Oconee

5. Chapel Hill

6. Sonoraville

7. Dawson County

8. Beach

9. Decatur

10. Elbert County

Class AA

1. Wesleyan

2. Greater Atlanta Christian

3. Laney

4. Kendrick

5. Calhoun

6. Thomasville

7. Model

8. Lovett

9. Dublin

10. Bremen

Class A

1. SW Atlanta Christian

2. Holy Innocents’

3. Darlington

4. Randolph-Clay

5. Gordon Lee

6. Towns County

7. St. Francis

8. George Walton Academy

9. Calvary Day

10. Wilkinson County

Comments are closed.