All-region teams: Jefferson’s Shirreffs named top player in 8-AA

Here are the top players as well as the all-region team in 8-AA, as selected by the coaches:

Offensive player of the year: QB Bryant Shirreffs, Jefferson, Sr.

Defensive player of the year: LB Wesley Simonton, Jefferson, Sr.

Special teams players of the year: PK/P Chandler Schlutow, Jefferson, Sr., and PK/P Carlos Diaz, Rabun County, Sr.


QB – Buck Robinson, Washington-Wilkes, Sr.

QB – Kendrick Preley, Oglethorpe County, Sr.

RB – Adrian Humphrey, Riverside Military, Sr.

RB – Anthony Thornton, Oglethorpe County, So.

RB – Kendall Woodard, Rabun County, Sr.

RB – Jared Miller, Greene County, Sr.

WR – Jalen Turner, Washington-Wilkes, Jr.

WR – Clint Scott, Rabun County, Sr.

WR – Rikeem Stallings, Greene County, Sr.

OL – Alex Hackney, Washington-Wilkes, Sr.

OL – Collin Anthony, Jefferson, Sr.

OL – Jordan Tyler, Jefferson, Jr.

OL – C.J. Byers, Union County, Sr.

OL – Patrick Butler, Oglethorpe County, Jr.

P – Eric Hougrand, Union County, Sr.


DB – Jared Miller, Greene County, Sr.

DB – Elijah Holyfield, Riverside Military, Fr.

DB – Charlie Woerner, Rabun County, Fr.

DB – Javoris Grant, Washington-Wilkes, Sr.

LB – Kody McDonald Jefferson, Jr.

LB – Chase Barnett, Union County, So.

LB – Tomarkus Young, Washington-Wilkes, Jr.

DL – Luther Jones, Union County, Jr.

DL – Tyler Bowen, Jefferson, Jr.

DL – Tremond Ferrell, Washington-Wilkes, So.

DL – Demone Kemp, Greene County, So.

PK – Tanner Preston, Social Circle, Sr.

Honorable mention: QB – T. Bentley, Union County, Sr.; Wes Holcombe, Rabun County, Jr. RB – Jalen Turner, Washington-Wilkes, Jr.; Quay Blackburn, Washington-Wilkes, Fr.; Tristen Jackson, Jefferson, Jr.; Sammy Williams, Jefferson, So.; Elijah Holyfield, Riverside Military, Fr. WR – Mark White, Washington-Wilkes, Sr.; Treyvon Booker, Washington-Wilkes, Jr.; Devariuos Smith, Washington-Wilkes, So.; Lalo Rivera, Union County, Sr.; Donnie Hatfield Jefferson, Jr.; McKay Dickens, Jefferson, Jr.; Charlie Woerner, Rabun County, Fr.; Keyondre Wright, Greene County, Sr. OL – Darryl Ware, Washington-Wilkes, Jr.; Eli Griffin, Jefferson, Jr.; Charles Gordon, Rabun County, Sr.; Randy Bowman, Greene County, Sr.; Damien Kemp, Greene County, So. P – Brian Hadigree, Washington-Wilkes, Sr. DB – Micah Carpenter, Jefferson, So.; Josh Kim, Union County, Sr.; Terez Norman, Washington-Wilkes, So.; John Mathews, Oglethorpe County, Sr.; Kaleem Jernigan, Greene County, So.; Tradd Porter Jefferson, So.; Hanon Price Jefferson, Jr.LB – Mike Kelly, Social Circle, Sr.; John Mark McFarlane, Riverside Military, Jr.; Brian Hardigree, Washington-Wilkes, Sr.; Tanner Bowman, Oglethorpe County, Sr.; Rikeen Stallings, Greene County, Sr. DL – Montana Ogbu, Riverside Military, Sr.; Jake Whitton, Riverside Military, Jr.; Craig Jones, Union County, Sr. PK – Andres Aparicio, Greene County, So.; Eric Hougrand, Union County, Sr.

Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter.

2 comments Add your comment


December 28th, 2012
8:53 am

As a Dragon dad, I got to see all of these kids play this year. Fantastic athletes and well-deserving. Though I am amazed that Elijah Holyfield is only a freshman. He is going to be a great player if he keeps growing and developing.

Tony Starks

January 1st, 2013
12:44 am

The young man from greene county that broke his arm kareem jernigan was leading the region with 69 tackles after 6 games before breaking his arm