Gainesville, Jefferson add to northeast Georgia’s championship total

Gainesville and Jefferson won their first state championships this season in what was a special year for teams in northeast Georgia. Here are northeast Georgia’s state champions in the GHSA, not counting Buford, which could be classified as northeast Georgia or metro Atlanta.

2012 Gainesville (AAAAA)

2012 Jefferson (AA)

2000 Commerce (A)

1999 Oconee County (AAA)

1995 Elbert County (AA)

1985 Clarke Central (AAAA)

1981 Commerce (A)

1979 Clarke Central (AAAA)

1977 Clarke Central (AAAA)

1969 Athens (AAA)

1958 Stephens County (A)

1955 Athens (A)

Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter. To join the mailing list, click here.

Comments are closed.