No. 4 seeds in the semifinals

No. 4 seeds that won their first-round games last week were Colquitt County and Brookwood (AAAAAA), North Paulding (AAAAA) and South Effingham (AAAA). There have been 590 teams seeded No. 4 since the playoffs were expanded to 32 teams per class in 1996. Of those, only 21 have made it to the quarterfinals. Here are the 12 that made the semifinals:

1997 Colquitt County

1997 Clarkston

1997 Irwin County

1998 Cairo

2002 East Coweta

2006 Peachtree Ridge*

2007 Cook

2007 Flowery Branch

2010 Savannah Christian

2010 Lovett

2011 Landmark Christian

2011 Lassiter

*Won title

Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter. To join the mailing list, click here.

One comment Add your comment


November 19th, 2012
11:53 pm

Shows how strong the regions are at least through the #4 seed. More regions than ever have more than 1 or 2 quality teams.