HS softball rankings: Champions headline final poll

By Score Atlanta

The GHSA softball titles have been awarded after three incredible days of action in Columbus. Archer, Union Grove, Northwest Whitfield, Buford, Dade County, Gordon Lee and Mt. Pisgah all claimed trophies as seven champions were crowned for the first time in GHSA history. Archer managed to end Collins Hill’s reign at the top of the state’s highest classification. Collins Hill had won the last three Class AAAAA titles before moving up to Class AAAAAA.

Union Grove claimed its first Class AAAAA title after winning three games Saturday coming out of the Losers Bracket. Union Grove was forced to beat Whitewater then Pope twice after falling to Pope 1-0 on Friday in the semifinals of the Winners Bracket. Northwest Whitfield also earned its first crown in Class AAAA. Buford won a sixth straight GHSA softball title but the first in Class AAA. The previous five came in Class AA.

Dade County’s title in Class AA was the program’s first since 2004. In Class A, Gordon Lee won the public school bracket, the school’s third straight state title, while Mt. Pisgah won the Class A private school bracket.


1. Archer

2. Kennesaw Mountain

3. Collins Hill

4. East Coweta

5. Lassiter

6. Mill Creek

7. Hillgrove

8. Harrison

9. Alcovy

10. North Gwinnett


1. Union Grove

2. Pope

3. Whitewater

4. Loganville

5. Greenbrier

6. South Paulding

7. Northgate

8. Allatoona

9. Heritage-Conyers

10. Kell


1. NW Whitfield

2. Madison County

3. West Laurens

4. Wayne County

5. Columbus

6. South Effingham

7. Rutland

8. Lumpkin County

9. Heritage-Catoosa

10. Marist


1. Buford

2. Ringgold

3. Central-Carroll

4. Jackson County

5. Chapel Hill

6. Pike County

7. Jackson

8. Blessed Trinity

9. Pierce County

10. Franklin County


1. Dade County

2. Wesleyan

3. Heard County

4. Bremen

5. Harlem

6. Vidalia

7. Bacon County

8. Jeff Davis

9. Cook

10. Calhoun


1. Gordon Lee

2. Mt. Pisgah

3. Georgia Military

4. Prince Avenue Christian

5. Savannah Christian

6. Mt. Zion-Carrollton

7. Schley County

8. Seminole County

9. Darlington

10. George Walton Academy

3 comments Add your comment


October 28th, 2012
5:53 pm

When you split class A into public and private playoffs, you cannot have a final poll that recombines the two. Get rid of this stupid system. The GHSA collapsed to the concerns of some south GA schools and set up a farce. We cannot continue to play as one division, split for the playoffs, then pretend we can rank the two as one division.


October 28th, 2012
6:09 pm

Congratulations to Northwest Whitfield. Emily Boyd and her fellow seniors have set the bar high for future Northwest softball teams. Great to see them finally get the crown.


October 29th, 2012
11:10 am

Grats Buford Wolves!! 6 straight championships… The latest in AAA!!!

Howling at the Moon!!! ~