All-state quarterbacks in Class AAAAA since 1990

Teams that win state titles in Class AAAAA typically are known for their running games and defenses, not their quarterbacks. The most recent state championship quarterback to be named first-team all-state by the Atlanta Journal-Constitution was Dustin Taliaferro of Roswell in 2006. Before that, it was Quincy Carter of Southwest DeKalb. Here are the first-team all-state quarterbacks in the highest class since 1990.

2010 – Taylor Heinicke, Collins Hill

2009 – Hutson Mason, Lassiter

2008 – Mikey Tamburo, North Gwinnett

2007 – Mikey Tamburo, North Gwinnett

2006 – Dustin Taliaferro, Roswell

2005 – Thomas Darrah, Newnan

2004 – Brandon Jones, Marietta, and Jeff Witt, Parkview

2003 – Kisan Flakes, Lovejoy, and Tyler Horne, Newnan

2002 – Reggie Ball, Stephenson

2001 – Chansi Stuckey, Northside

2000 – D.J. Shockley, North Clayton

1999 – David Greene, South Gwinnett

1998 – A.J. Suggs, McEachern

1997 – Worth Bowers, Tift County

1996 – Daniel Cobb, Harrison

1995 – Quincy Carter, SW DeKalb

1994 – Jon England, Norcross

1993 – Hines Ward, Forest Park

1992 – Derrick Steagall, Newnan

1991 – Rodney Hudson, LaGrange

1990 – Eric Zeier, Marietta

Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter. To join the mailing list, click here.

6 comments Add your comment


December 2nd, 2011
10:16 am

Mikey Tamburo is up there back to back years. Nobody else can say that at all.


December 2nd, 2011
10:44 am

@ NGHS 09 , Uhm uhm uhm…..>)


December 2nd, 2011
10:44 am

@ NGHS 09 , Uhm uhm uhm…..<)

Todd Holcomb

December 2nd, 2011
10:44 am

The AP picked Hutson Mason one of those years that Mikey won it. So Mason is a two-time winner for AP. It was a close call. Mason had more passing yards, but Mike ran for about 700 yards. Now they’re teammates at UGA, I believe.


December 2nd, 2011
10:48 am

@ NGHS 09 , nobody else can say that they won the State Championship ring, with their all state QB since Quincy Carter, SWD (a Dekalb County school) including NG, who still can’t get past the 2nd round in the playoff…

Todd Holcomb

December 2nd, 2011
11:59 am

Dustin Taliaferro & Rodney Hudson also won state titles. But it’s rare in Georgia. It’s historically a running state. Might be about to change, though.