Walton High’s Kelly Murphy wins Gatorade Georgia Volleyball Player of Year

Kelly Murphy of Walton High School as its 2010-11 Gatorade Georgia Volleyball Player of the Year.  Murphy is the second Gatorade Georgia Volleyball Player of the Year to be chosen from Walton High School.

The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the court, distinguishes Murphy as Georgia’s best high school volleyball player.

The 6-foot junior outside hitter led the Raiders to a 42-7 record and a second consecutive Class AAAAA state title this past season. Murphy recorded 28 kills and 10 digs in a 3-1 Class AAAAA state championship victory against Northview. The Class AAAAA Player of the Year as named by the Georgia Volleyball Coaches Association, she averaged 4.5 kills, 3.4 digs, 0.7 service aces and 0.2 blocks per game while posting a hitting percentage of .436 this fall. A returning Class AAAAA First Team All-State selection, Murphy produced 613 kills, 179 digs, 61 service aces and 55 blocks as a junior, leading the Raiders (44-6) to the state championship. Her 613 kills in 2009 rank eighth all-time for a single season in state history.

Murphy has maintained a 4.00 GPA in the classroom. In addition to donating her time as youth volleyball instructor, she has volunteered as part of multiple community-service initiatives on behalf of her church and the Young Life Christian ministry.

“Her work ethic is off the charts, and she was something to watch during sets two and three at the finals this year,” said Walton Head Coach Suzanne Fitzgerald. “She called her team to battle. I cannot say enough about how this girl continues to grow and develop as a player. Her serve-receive numbers improved, her defense was comparable to our libero and her attacking numbers speak for themselves. She is an incredible talent.”

Murphy will begin her senior year of high school next fall.

Murphy joins recent Gatorade Georgia Volleyball Players of the Year Mary Hoey (2009-10, Pope), Monique Mead (2008-09, Landmark Christian) and Betsy Smith (2007-08, Wesleyan School) among the state’s list of former award winners.

– Staff Reports

Comments are closed.