Georgia High School Football Daily Spotlight: All-Decade Team: Class AA

Here are the GHSF Daily’s picks for Class AA all-decade team. Please submit your own selections below. Or tell us what you think of the GHSF Daily picks. (The year in parentheses is the last season played by each player.)

Player of the decade: Darius Walker, Buford
Team of the decade: 2003 Buford
Program of the decade: Buford
Coach of the decade: Rich McWhorter, Charlton County


QB – Josh Nesbitt, Greene County (2006)
2005-06 offensive player of year; Georgia Tech
RB – Darius Walker, Buford (2003)
Parade All-American; 2003 all-class player of the year; Notre Dame
RB – Daccus Turman, Washington-Wilkes (2000)
State-record 3,172 rushing yards in season; South Carolina
TE – Leonard Pope, Americus (2001)
Two-time first-team all-state; Georgia; NFL
WR – Da’Rick Rogers, Calhoun (2009)
2009 AJC all-class player of the year; state-record 1,647 yards receiving; Georgia
WR – John Harris, Americus (2001)
Two-time first-team all-state; state-record 1,581 yards receiving; Texas Tech
OL – Justin Anderson, Irwin County (2005)
AA’s only three-time all-state OL this decade; Georgia
OL – Josh Brock, Cartersville (2001)
Two-time all-state; starter at Georgia until medically disqualified
OL – T-Bob Hebert, GAC (2006)
Sophomore starting center at LSU
OL – Kolton Houston, Buford (2009)
AJC Super 11; two-time first-team all-state; Georgia
OL – Trey Chandler, Buford (2002)
Part of 47-game winning streak; top recruit injured at Georgia
K – Scott Blair, Calhoun (2006)
Georgia Tech’s primary kicker the past two seasons


DL – Omar Hunter, Buford (2008)
Parade All-American; GACA defensive player of the year; Florida
DL – Justin Mincey, Charlton County (2004)
2004 defensive player of the year; two-year starter at Florida State
DL – A.J. Harmon, Jefferson County (2007)
AJC Super 11; Parade All-American; plays offense at Georgia
DL – Brandon Thompson, Thomasville (2007)
2007 AJC defensive player of year; starts as true sophomore at Clemson
LB – Jessel Curry, Buford (2009)
2009 AJC/AP defensive player of the year; Auburn
DL/LB – Marquis Elmore, Charlton County (2000)
2000 AJC defensive player of year; AJC Super 11; Georgia
LB – Thomas Barnes, Dublin (2006)
2006 unanimous defensive player of the year; N.C. State
DB – Rashard Smith, Dublin (2008)
2007-08 defensive player of year; N.C. State
DB – Jamea Thomas, Fitzgerald (2008)
2008 AJC AA defensive player of the year; Georgia Tech
DB – D.J. Donley, Charlton County (2006)
Two-time all-state; blue-chip recruit; Georgia Tech
DB – Robert Dunn, Laney (2004)
2004 AP all-class player of year; played WR at Auburn
P – Shawn Powell, Darlington (2006)
Started since freshman season at Florida State

Georgia High School Football Daily is a free email newsletter. CLICK to join the mailing list

13 comments Add your comment


January 5th, 2010
11:15 am

Good pick at punter. Shawn is the man. Monster leg.


January 5th, 2010
9:15 pm

Good list, but it’s biased. No Jeremy Privett from Charlton, what about Dwight Dasher, both set state records in passing. Where is Vincent Brown from Cook High in 2001, part of the three – 1,000 yard rushers Cook had that season (and also owns a National Championship ring, none of your list can say that). Jessel Curry is a biased pick, there are plenty of good linebackers that replace him.


January 5th, 2010
9:21 pm

Todd, I am a Folkston native so it’s nice to see Charlton County getting some AJC love, but how could you pick Nesbitt over Dwight Dasher? Dasher beat him head-to-head in a super game at the Dome and lead Charlton to 3 state championships in decade. Other than that, great list.


January 5th, 2010
10:09 pm

Midgashipmen, who would you replace Jessel with? And by the by, Omar Hunter owns a National Championship ring.

buford 2

January 5th, 2010
10:41 pm

i have seen alot of aa ball. My thoughts… dwight dasher. twice the player of nesbitt. Thor Merrow and Adam Davis at DE. I am biased… T Bob never finished a game against the Wolves.


January 6th, 2010
7:52 am

Yet another illiterate moron who think decades start with years beginning with zeroes (and not ones). The current decade doesn’t end until December 31, 2010, and it doesn’t include the year 2000.

Decatur finest

January 6th, 2010
11:20 am

Almighty1 all decades start with zeros not ones the 90’s dont start in 1991 and the turn of the century didnt start in 2001 so what the heck are you talking about and what the hell does that have to do with the all decade team! moron


January 6th, 2010
5:33 pm

Yea, I think Privett from Charlton Co. should be considered. He ended his career with 7487 yards passing and 92 TD’s which was a state record. But Dasher was a No Brainer. He won 3 State titles leading his team and ended up with 7655 yards passing, 87 TD’s and ran for 31 more TD’s. Tell me another person in AA “ever” that was accountable for 118 TD’s. He never took a snap until he was a sophmore so this was also in 3 seasons.


January 6th, 2010
7:43 pm

Actually Dasher threw 1 touchdown to mincey his freshman year. And taylor said shut up beanhead.!! lol


January 6th, 2010
8:09 pm

What about Mike Muschamp for “Coach of the decade?” Lovett is now always a contender for the Championship and before him they had trouble making into the playoffs…

Jimmy Payne

January 8th, 2010
7:40 pm

Not having Dwight Dasher on this list is a joke. If not for him alone Buford would probably have won 8 championships this decade. T-Bob is another joke. When he played the big guys like Buford he could not even finish a game he got whippped so bad.


January 13th, 2010
12:11 pm

How did Eric Berry not make the list??????


February 15th, 2010
5:43 pm

I agree with everyone about Dasher from Charlton. I would like to know what set Nesbitt apart from Dasher. 3 state championships in a row – leading the only team to beat Buford in those years. Unbelievable stats (passing and running). We demand a recount!