Georgia High School Football Daily Spotlight: All-State Teams: Class AAA

The Atlanta Journal-Constitution and the Associated Press announced their all-state teams on Christmas Day. This week, GHSF Daily will go through each classification, one per day, and look at some of the choices and provide some insight on how these teams are chosen.

The AJC’s all-state team was picked this year by GHSF Daily. Todd Holcomb, a former AJC sports writer, has coordinated the selection of the AJC’s team the past three years. The AP team is chosen by a panel of Georgia sports writers.

Here are players who made first-team all-state in Class AAA:

Coach of the Year: Chad Campbell, Peach County (AP, AJC)


Player of the year: Blake Sims, Gainesville (AP)
Player of the year: Connor Shaw, Flowery Branch (AJC)

QB: Connor Shaw, Flowery Branch (AP, AJC)
RB: Isaiah Crowell, Carver-Columbus (AP, AJC)
RB: Git Aiken, Eastside (AP, AJC)
WR: Tai-ler Jones, Gainesville (AP, AJC)
WR: Lamar Zanders, Peach County (AP, AJC)
TE Jremetries Kirksay, Washington County (AP, AJC)
OL: David Beasley, Carver-Columbus (AP, AJC)
OL: Jadarius Dean, Baldwin (AP, AJC)
OL: Daniel Blitch, North Hall (AP, AJC)
OL: Chartavious Danzy, Washington County (AP, AJC)
OL: Renard Williams, Peach County (AP, AJC)
PK: Joe Mansour, LaGrange (AP, AJC)


Player of the year: Thomas Sprague, Gainesville (AP)
Player of the year: Corey Crawford, Carver-Columbus (AJC)

DL Corey Crawford, Carver-Columbus (AP, AJC)
DL: Kelcey Lewis, Peach County (AP)
DL: Sterling Bailey, East Hall (AP)
DL: Denarrious King, Baldwin (AP)
DL: Neiron Ball, Jackson (AJC)
DL: J.C. Copeland, Troup (AJC)
DL: Henry Anderson, Woodward Academy (AJC)
LB: A.J. Johnson, Gainesville (AP, AJC)
LB: Thomas Sprague, Gainesville (AP, AJC)
LB: Ryan Holmes, Creekview (AP)
LB: Luke Crowell, Peach County (AP)
LB: Tommy Sanders, Crisp County (AJC)
DB: Nathan Jones, North Hall (AP, AJC)
DB: Damian Swann, Grady (AP, AJC)
DB: Deion Bonner, Carver-Columbus (AP)
DB: Jontavious Davis, Peach County (AP)
DB: Jermyrion Bodiford, Cairo (AJC)
DB: Dewuan Harrison, Ridgeland (AJC)
P: Chisel Flores, East Hall (AP)
P: Will Monday, Flowery Branch (AJC)
ATH: Blake Sims, Gainesville (AP, AJC)
RET: Caddarius Warthen, Washington County (AP)

AP honorable mention: DL Charlie Aly, Jackson; DL Henry Anderson, Woodward Academy; DL Neiron Ball, Jackson; QB Terrell Brigham, Burke County; QB Devin Burns, Carver-Columbus; WR Vincent Dallas, Cedar Grove; LB Tevin Davis, Mary Persons; RB Martez Eastland, Ringgold; RB Ben Emert, West Forsyth; DL Wesley Evans, Washington County; LB Clarence France, Carver-Columbus; RB Montravious Gladdin, Washington County; QB Miles Gooch, Towers; DB Byron Isaac, Dunwoody; DL Derrick Laney, Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe; ; RB Quint McKibben, Jackson; OL Quincy McKinney, Carver-Columbus; P Will Monday, Flowery Branch; FB Cole Moon, St. Pius X; LB Tommy Sanders, Crisp County; QB Shunquez Stephens, West Hall; QB Patrick Taylor, Peach County; RB Juwan Thompson, Woodward Academy; RB Shadrach Thornton, Liberty County; WR Rodney Young, Flowery Branch.

AJC honorable mention: QB Devin Burns, Carver-Columbus; QB Patrick Taylor, Peach County; QB Miles Gooch, Towers; QB Terrell Brigham, Burke County; QB AJ Barge, Carrollton; RB Martez Eastland, Ringgold; RB Ben Emert, West Forsyth; RB Montravious Gladdin, Washington County; RB Quint McKibben, Jackson; RB Cole Moon, St. Pius; RB Juwan Thompson, Woodward Academy; WR Dimitri Miles, LaFayette; WR Rodney Young, Flowery Branch; WR Antonio Goodwin, Washington; TE Justin Tookes, Worth County; DL Charlie Aly, Jackson; DL Jamel Dobbs, Cedar Grove; DL Denarrious King, Baldwin; DL Randolph Williams, Peach County; LB Tevin Davis, Mary Persons; LB Peyton Wilhoite, North Hall; LB Robert Lucisano, St. Pius; LB Kevis Bell, Eastside; DB Breon Isaac, Dunwoody; ATH Devin Bowman, Ridgeland.


Blake Sims vs. Connor Shaw (OPOY): And so ends one of the great rivalries in recent Georgia high school football. Two great quarterbacks are leaving northeast Georgia in Sims, who has committed to Alabama, and Shaw, who is headed to South Carolina. Shaw passed for 3,036 yards and 30 touchdowns with six interceptions and rushed for 793 yards and 18 touchdowns. Sims passed for 2,288 and 28 touchdowns and rushed for 831 yards and 13 touchdowns. Edge there to Shaw, but Sims also had six other touchdowns on returns or pass receptions.

Thomas Sprague vs. Corey Crawford (DPOY): Sprague, the Gainesville linebacker, was a warrior who had more than 10 tackles a game, three defensive touchdowns, a critical blocked punt in the semifinals and a strip in the title game. Not sure if it matters, but Sprague was not the defensive player of the year in his region. That went to North Hall’s Nathan Jones. After waffling a bit, we settled on Crawford, who has committed to Clemson. He had 23 tackles behind the line of scrimmage for Carver.

Kelcey Lewis/Sterling Bailey/Denarrious King vs. Neiron Ball/J.C. Copeland/Henry Anderson (DL): Bailey of East Hall could be the best junior defensive lineman in the state. He’s a big-time prospect. Lewis was Peach County’s best lineman. King of Baldwin was the Region 3-AAA player of the year. We went with Copeland, a Tennessee pledge whose good works were misplaced amid Troup’s disappointing season; Anderson, a Stanford commit who had 9.5 sacks; and Ball, a Florida commit from Jackson. Ball missed three games and probably didn’t deserve it based on total net worth in 2009, but our feedback was that he might be the best defensive player in Class AAA. Note that Ball and Anderson are the only Region 4-AAA players to make either all-state team.

Ryan Holmes/Luke Crowell vs. Tommy Sanders (LB): The AJC allows for only three linebackers. We chose Sanders of Crisp County, a Central Florida commit who averaged more than 10 tackles a game. Holmes of Creekview had similar numbers and is mulling Division I-A offers. Peach County’s Crowell was a hero of the state championship game, a gritty player who also scored 18 touchdowns as a fullback.

Deion Bonner/Jontavious Davis vs. Jermyrion Bodiford/Dewuan Harrison (DB): Bonner is a sophomore at Carver of Columbus. Will that school ever run out of talent? Davis, of Peach County, had 10 interceptions. We don’t know of anyone that had more. We picked Cairo’s Bodiford, a first-team all-region player and returning starter from Cairo’s 2008 championship team, and Harrison, a GACA all-star and Ridgeland’s top defensive player. He’s also the only Region 8-AAA player to make either first team.

Chisel Flores vs. Will Monday (P): Flores of East Hall was the first-team punter from Region 7-AAA ahead of Monday and had a higher average per kick. Monday had a higher percentage inside the 20. This was a case of knowing the AP was going with Flores and feeling like both were all-state quality.

By region

1-AAA: AP 5; AJC 4
2-AAA: AP 5; AJC 5
3-AAA: AP 5; AJC 3
4-AAA: AP 0; AJC 2
5-AAA: AP 1; AJC 1
6-AAA: AP 0; AJC 1
7-AAA: AP 10; AJC 8
8-AAA: AP 1; AJC 1

6 comments Add your comment


December 30th, 2009
12:56 pm

Gabe Wright of Carver-Col DT should have been 1st team…..He will be a AJC super 11 pick with his teammate I.Crowell in 2010……..

bob dylan

December 31st, 2009
11:01 am

Nathan Jones is the TRUTH

Chris Johnson

December 31st, 2009
7:07 pm

Ben Emmert, running back, from West Forsyth is definitely one of the top 2! He has signed to play at Wake Forest.

The Truth

December 31st, 2009
7:22 pm

I am The Truth. Nathan Jones being selected Region 7-AAA defensive POY over Sprague… I can’t believe I even wasted my time to respond on this frieking blog. Nothing against Jones but everything against Christmas and the monkeys he coerced into selecting his boy.

Bank Walker, Texas Ranger

January 3rd, 2010
7:40 pm

agreed truth

[...] also was one of the AJC’s honorable mentions for the 2009 all-state team in Class AAA.  He was No. 9 in the state’s top 40 recruits in [...]