Ex-Falcons kicker Morten Andersen on list of hall of fame candidates

FLOWERY BRANCH — Former Falcons kicker Morten Andersen, who made the biggest field goal in franchise history which sent the Dirty Birds to the franchise’s only Super Bowl, is among the 13 first-year eligible modern-era candidates nominated for the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2013.

 Some of the other first-year candidates on the list that was released on Thursday include:  Offensive linemen Larry Allen and Jonathan Ogden, defensive linemen Warren Sapp and Michael Strahan and defensive back John Lynch.

On Jan. 17, 1999, Andersen booted a 38-yard field goal to give the Falcons a 30-27 victory over Minnesota in the NFC championship game. The kick sent the franchise to it’s first, and only, trip to the Super Bowl.

Andersen, who made the Pro Bowl seven times, is the NFL’s all-time leading scoring with 2,544 points.

George Blanda, Lou “The Toe” Groza and Jan Stenerud are the only kickers in the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio.

Andersen, a native of Copenhagen, Denmark, was drafted by the Saints in the fourth round of the 1982 draft. He played for the Saints (1982-94), Falcons (1995-2000), New York Giants (2001), Chiefs 2002-03), Minnesota (2004) and Atlanta (2006-07).  

The complete list of candidates for the Class of 2013 consists of 127 nominees. From that list the Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee will choose 25 candidates who will advance as semifinalist nominees. The list of 25 semifinalist nominees will be announced in late November. That semifinalist list will be further reduced by a mail ballot to 15 modern-era finalists and announced in early January.

The Class of 2013 will be selected from the list of the 15 modern-era finalists plus the two senior nominees (former Kansas City Chiefs and Houston Oilers nose tackle Curley Culp and former Green Bay Packers and Washington Redskins linebacker Dave Robinson) who were selected last month by the Hall of Fame’s senior selection committee.

The actual voting for the Class of 2013 will be conducted at the Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee’s annual meeting, which will be held on Saturday, Feb. 2, 2013 the day before Super Bowl XLVII at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome in New Orleans, La. The election results will be announced at a live announcement show immediately following the meeting.

While there is no set number for any class of enshrinees, the selection process by-laws provide that between four and seven new members will be selected.

The 2013 list of modern-era nominees includes 89 players, 14 coaches and 24 contributors, including former NFL Commissioner Paul Tagliabue and longtime team owners Bud Adams, Jr., Jack Kent Cooke, Ed DeBartolo, Jr., Robert Kraft, and Art Modell.

While a nominated player or coach must have been retired at least five consecutive seasons, a contributor, who is an individual who has made outstanding career contributions to pro football in capacities other than playing or coaching, may still be active in his pro football career. More information on the modern-era nominees can be found on the Hall of Fame’s official website at Profootballhof.com.

List of Nominees for the Class of 2013


First-year Eligible Nominees


Quarterback – Steve McNair

Running Back – Priest Holmes

Wide Receiver – Keenan McCardell

Offensive Linemen – Larry Allen (G), Tom Nalen (C), Jonathan Ogden (T)

Defensive Linemen – Sam Adams (DT), Warren Sapp (DT), Michael Strahan (DE), Ted Washington (DT/NT), Bryant Young (DE)

Defensive Back – John Lynch (S)

Kicker – Morten Andersen


Additional Nominees


QUARTERBACKS – Drew Bledsoe, Randall Cunningham, Ron Jaworski, Neil Lomax, Phil Simms, Danny White (also P)

RUNNING BACKS – Jamal Anderson, Ottis Anderson, Tiki Barber, *Jerome Bettis, Larry Centers, Roger Craig, Stephen Davis, Terrell Davis, Eddie George, Brian Mitchell (also PR/KR), Gerald Riggs, Herschel Walker, Ricky Watters

WIDE RECEIVERS –*Tim Brown (also KR), *Cris Carter, Gary Clark, Mark Clayton, Henry Ellard (also PR), Keyshawn Johnson, Stanley Morgan, *Andre Reed, Sterling Sharpe, Jimmy Smith, Rod Smith

TIGHT ENDS – Todd Christensen, Ben Coates

OFFENSIVE LINEMEN – Tony Boselli (T), Lomas Brown (T), Jim Covert (T), Joe Fields (C), Bill Fralic (G/T), Jeff Hartings (G/C), Jay Hilgenberg (C), Chris Hinton (G/T), Kent Hull (C), Joe Jacoby (T), Mike Kenn (T), Jim Lachey (T), *Will Shields (G), Erik Williams (T), Steve Wisniewski (G)

DEFENSIVE LINEMEN – Carl Hairston (DE/DT), *Charles Haley (DE/LB), Ed “Too Tall” Jones (DE), Joe Klecko (DE/DT/NT), Dexter Manley (DE), Charles Mann (DE), Fred Smerlas (NT)

LINEBACKERS – Cornelius Bennett, *Kevin Greene (also DE), Ken Harvey, Clay Matthews, Karl Mecklenburg, Sam Mills, Darryl Talley

DEFENSIVE BACKS – Eric Allen (CB), Steve Atwater (S), Joey Browner (S), LeRoy Butler (S), Nolan Cromwell (S), Albert Lewis (CB), Dennis Smith (S), Troy Vincent (CB), Everson Walls (CB), *Aeneas Williams (CB/S), Darren Woodson (S)

PUNTERS/KICKERS – Gary Anderson (K), Sean Landeta (P), Nick Lowery (K)


COACHES – Bill Arnsparger, Doug Blevins, Bud Carson, Don Coryell, Bill Cowher, Tom Flores, Jimmy Johnson, Chuck Knox, *Bill Parcells, Buddy Parker, Dan Reeves, Marty Schottenheimer, Clark Shaughnessy, Dick Vermeil

CONTRIBUTORS – K. S. (Bud) Adams, Jr., George Anderson, Bobby Beathard, Gil Brandt, C. O. Brocato, Leo Carlin, Jack Kent Cooke, Otho Davis, *Ed DeBartolo, Jr., Ron Gibbs, Ralph Kohl, Eddie Kotal, Robert Kraft, Art McNally, Art Modell, Bill Polian, Art Rooney, Jr., Steve Sabol, Carl Storck, Paul Tagliabue, Burl Toler, Sr., Jim Tunney, Ron Wolf, George Young

*On 2012 finalists list

10 comments Add your comment


September 27th, 2012
6:52 pm

When are these guys going to put Tommy Nobis in the Hall? The Falcons need to make a push for Nobis.

Mike Lum

September 27th, 2012
8:22 pm

When he retired, Herschel Walker was ranked second all time in NFL all purpose yards. Since it’s called the “Pro Football Hall of Fame”, if you count all the yards gained in his entire pro career, no other professional has gained more yards than Walker. He’s also the only player in NFL history with touchdowns over 90 yards rushing, receiving, and returns. With that resume, it seems like he would be a shoo-in.


September 27th, 2012
11:22 pm

This is why I was amused when someone said Schaub and Ryan were going to be shoo-in “first” ballot HOF choices…

[...] Atlanta Falcons This entry was posted in Atlanta Falcons and tagged Andersen, candidates, exFalcons, Fame, Hall, kicker, list, Morten. Bookmark the permalink. ← Mohamed Massaquoi, Jah Reid headline Browns-Ravens inactive lists (Shutdown Corner) [...]

[...] to Original Content From Atlanta Journal Constitution (blog): read more Related Articles Share About Author [...]

Grape Nuts are neither grapes or nuts

September 28th, 2012
9:40 am

Beefy is a nick name you rarely hear some one called.


September 28th, 2012
11:20 am

@ Ledbetter…
Should Sterling Sharpe give up on the HOF ever calling?

D. Orlando Ledbetter

September 28th, 2012
1:13 pm

JSS – Just got my ballot. His name is on there. There’s always hope. I won’t hold it against him that he denied over 200 of my interview requests when I was covering the Packers.


September 28th, 2012
3:06 pm

He wasn’t fast but he was as lethal of a possession receiver this side of Ray Berry ever… Darn that neck injury!


September 28th, 2012
3:11 pm

I know the argument that voters don’t consider kickers in the HOF voting. But here’s the thing… there IS a pure kicker in there, Jan Stenerud. And if he’s the gold standard, which he apparently must be, than Morten must be given serious consideration in this voting class. His records DWARF Stenerud’s in every category.
Time for some re-thinking on this matter….your thoughts?